How to Use Your Sizzix Texturz Texture Plates in Your Cuttlebug Machine!

Posted on March 25, 2009. Filed under: Cuttlebug, Sizzix | Tags: , , |

Before I tell you all about how to use your Sizzix Texturz Texture Plates in your Cuttlebug Machine, I can’t forget to tell you that we’re giving away a FREE SIZZIX BIG SHOT MACHINE HERE!

I recently had one of our customers ask me about using the Sizzix Texturz Texture Plates in her Cuttlebug machine. I have to preface right here and now that I prefer using the Sizzix Big Shot over the Cuttlebug, and I had not yet tried this, since… well, because I use my Big Shot with my texture plates. I started playing with my Cuttlebug and quickly found out that not only is it possible… it works perfectly! So I started exploring the great big world wide web to see what others were doing with this information and was shocked.to.death. Seriously, I got a little sick to my stomach when I saw a couple of posts on various boards saying that if you owned the Cuttlebug and wanted to use the darling texture plates by Sizzix, then you were just plain out of luck… and I almost fainted when it was mentioned that if you really wanted those darling textures on your paper and don’t own a Sizzix machine, you might just have to get out your STYLUS. (egads! What era are we in?)
So here is your tutorial.

You will need this:

Cuttlebug Machine

Cuttlebug Machine

And ONE of these:

Sizzix Texturz Texture Plate

Sizzix Texturz Texture Plate

Here is your sandwich:

Cuttlebug Cutting Pad ‘A’

Sizzix Texturz Texture Plate

Paper or Cardstock – I used Core’dinations Black Magic Hocus Pocus Color Core Cardstock (which if you’ve never seen before, you’re in for a real treat… when I saw it at CHAW in January, I had hearts in my eyes – I swear the poor lady showing it to me thought I might attack her!)

Sizzix Silicone Rubber (or you can use something called a plumbers mat/pad from the hardware store)

Cuttlebug Cutting Pad ‘B’

Cardstock shim(s) – I used two

Here is the sandwich fanned out, so that you can see each layer:

How to use sizzix with cuttlebug

Sizzix Texturz layering for Cuttlebug Machine

Notice that I have the pink side of the cardstock up, that’s because I want the embossing to be on the black side, which is face-to-face with the Sizzix Texture Plate… you’ll see why in just a minute.

Next, you simply roll it through your Cuttlebug Machine. You want to feel a good amount of pressure as you roll it through. If it’s too easy, you’re not going to get a good impression, so you might want to add another shim – that’s what the black piece is in this photo.

Sizzix Texture Plates in Cuttlebug Machine

Sizzix Texture Plates in Cuttlebug Machine

And here’s the big reveal:

Sizzix Texture Plates in Cuttlebug Machine with Coredinations Cardstock

Sizzix Texture Plates in Cuttlebug Machine with Coredinations Cardstock

Please note that it did NOT come out like this. What I did was once it was embossed, I simply took a piece of sandpaper to my Coredinations Cardstock very lightly over the top and it sanded off the highs of the embossing. This is just one way to use this cardstock – and if you like this, you’re going to love some of the other things you can do – but that’s another post. Until then, happy crafting!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “How to Use Your Sizzix Texturz Texture Plates in Your Cuttlebug Machine!”

RSS Feed for Katessa Crafts Blog Comments RSS Feed

Awesome! Thanks for sharing!!! I just “found” the Texturz plates and NEEDED this info to work them in my C’Bug! Wahoo!

Also, if you LOVE this cardstock… Close To My Heart CS does this same effect! LOVE the white core CS!!

THANKS for sharing!!

Thanks for sharing. Brilliant webside.
can you tell me the thickness of the rubber mat/sheet?

It’s about 1/8″ thick…. *Ü*

This is really helpful. I wasn’t sure if I should get the texturz plates because I didn’t know if they would work in my CB. Now I’m definitely going to try them out. Thanks for the tutorial!

Brilliant

Thank you I am from UK and found this helpful. I am looking for creativity inc pretty poppies collection, no one in Uk stocks this and Michaels have sold out. I am in the US every March to collect.Any chance Ta

Lyn, Have you tried ‘Crafty-Devils Papercraft.co.uk’ for the texture plates? I’ve bought quite a few from them, and their service is good.

Barbara Daines, Wiltshire, UK

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I had almost given up trying to get my Fiskars texture plates to work, and now they do since I bought the Sizzix Texturz Kit! It turned out beautifully thanks to your instructions… you don’t know how happy I am to have found this post!

Thanks for sharing this! I got these last weekend and was hoping to find a way to use them in my cuttlebug!

I am from Carlisle, UK. I want to thank you for your reply. I haven’t done this before but met up with two lovely folders
which are Sizzix and unfortunately I have a Cuttlebug – never mind, your information was great. Dorothy

Thank you so much for this tutorial. I just got my Sizzix texture plates from Stampin’ Up and I tried and tried but could not get it right. Now I am off to emboss. Thanks again!!!

What is the difference between the Sizzix “Texturz Texture Designs” and “Texture Plates” that you refer to? I just bought a Sizzix 6 Texturz Texture Designs packed and I don’t know if it’ll work in my Cuttlebug. Thanks so much.

I just received a sizzix texture pack and I know you mention the rubber purchase. I was curious if using a cuttlebug C Adapter would be okay instead of the rubber, or do we specifically need that? Thanks

Thanks mega for showing how to use the texture plates in the cuttlebug. I’m new to this so I have heaps to learn and this tutorial is very helpful.

Superb item. I really entirely resonated with How to Use Your Sizzix Texturz Texture
Plates in Your Cuttlebug Machine! | Katessa Crafts Blog. I
really shouldn’t cause issues as a result of declaring this but your page brought to mind 3g that i learned about on the internet site pertaining to 3g just recently.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

